Tags

, , , , ,

“… And go on till you come to the end: then stop.” -Lewis Caroll

Seems mighty logical and easy enough, doesn’t it?  I’ve always had issues with the beginning part; the first page, the first post.  It’s taking that leap into the unknown that is always the hardest.  So here I go- eyes shut and taking that leap.  Pretty soon the beginnings will be a distant memory. 

I’ve set out to tackle the Times All-Time 100 Novels list.  I wish I could say that there was some logic to my madness when picking which list I would attempt; alas not so much in retrospect.  I wanted a knowledgeable, well thought out list.  One that I haven’t read a great majority of the books (I’ve read much of the 30 before 30 list and a great deal of “classic” literature.) A list that held some intrigue and interest and didn’t have Homers Iliad or Odyssey listed (not bad, both just too long to want to read again.) A list where I wouldn’t have to compete against time to try to finish, nor speed read everything to finish.

Scanning Time’s list it made the cut.  Granted it is a bit dated, from 2005, but it’s still getting comments as late as 12/12 and great literature never grows old.  The largest appeal behind it is the large percentage of books I haven’t read yet, that is what sealed the deal for me.

So here I go- jumping in with my first post & picking up my first book off the list.  I don’t have much rhyme & reason to it at this point, just a plan to read and chronicle the journeys I encounter along the way.  I’d very much so love for anyone wanting to hop on board to read along, cheer along or just comment to join me.  I promise it’ll be fun along the way.